100 years of Ditsch

2019-1999

Today Mainz,
tomorrow the world!

Mehr erfahren

1998-1985

And the sector Oscar goes to:
Ditsch!

Mehr erfahren

1984-1960

En route for success:
Heinz + Peter Ditsch.

Mehr erfahren

1959-1919

Wilhelm Ditsch gets
things started.

Mehr erfahren

2019-1999 Today Mainz, tomorrow the world!

2019
100 Jahre Brezelbäckerei Ditsch

100 years of Ditsch

Many thanks to our sponsors for their support on our anniversary:



With over 200 shops to the company’s name, founder Wilhelm Ditsch’s idea is as relevant now as ever before: Ditsch is never far away when hunger strikes. After 100 years, the tradition lives on – as vibrant as ever and with a range of products of exceptional quality and diversity. With Ditsch USA and Brezelkönig Switzerland, Ditsch is now one of the world’s leading producers of pretzel products.

2017

Crazy for pretzels

The Valora Group buys Cincinnati-based pretzel producer Pretzel Baron, meaning that it is producing on location in the USA for the very first time. In the following year, Pretzel Baron is renamed Ditsch USA. After 20 years in Oranienbaum, a new building for Ditsch is being planned with two further production lines.

2014
Das kann sich sehen lassen

Going from strength to strength

The 200th Ditch shop is officially opened in Berlin and the 8th production line goes into operation at the Oranienbaum plant. Topping it all off are the significant resources saved through energy management at all locations.

2012

A large market needs a strong partner

The strong Ditsch brand is part of the international Valora Group from Switzerland with Peter Ditsch as anchor shareholder. A commitment to quality and a spirit of innovation remain part of Ditsch’s successful recipe in the following years.

2010
Ditsch Laugenspezialitäten von Hamburg bis München

Ditsch pretzel specialities from Hamburg to Munich

With a total of 180 shops, Ditsch now sells its pretzels throughout Germany, sharing the wonderful taste that Mainz has known and loved since 1919. The company headquarters in the Hechtsheim district of Mainz is given an extension.

2008

New product range and new capacity

Having already supplied the food retail and cash-and-carry sectors with a new product range in 2006, Ditsch now begins operation of a sixth production line in Oranienbaum.

2004

Another award and a very special honour

This year, the prestigious Innovation Award “VR-InnovationsPreis Mittelstand” presented by Volksbanken and Raiffeisenbanken goes to Ditsch, but there is yet another reason to be proud: children’s TV programme “Sendung mit der Maus” – a veritable institution in Germany – pays a visit to show children the art of baking pretzels.

2003
Ditsch ist «Entrepreneur des Jahres»

Ditsch is Entrepreneur of the Year

Presented by the international Ernst & Young Group, this award inspired the company to new heights in the same year, increasing production space in Oranienbaum to 15,000 m² and expanding the deep-freeze high-bay warehouse to 6,000 pallet bays.

2000
Ditsch und Brezelkönig

Ditsch and Brezelkönig

Ditsch takes over Brezelkönig AG, a company founded in Switzerland in 1995, and expands the Swiss shop network from five to around 30 locations over the next three years.

1998/1999

Excellent prospects in Oranienbaum

Official opening of the company’s second production facility: the new 7,700 m² Ditsch plant in Oranienbaum, near Dessau. A very promising location – and not just from a business perspective. As well as this, Ditsch moves into the B2B market.

1998-1985 And the sector Oscar goes to: Ditsch!

1996
Even more reasons to celebrate

Even more reasons to celebrate

A small celebration already took place in 1995 to mark the opening of the 100th Ditsch shop. The following year, the company was presented with the Hamburg Food Service Award for outstanding services to the sector.

1994

75 years of Ditsch

Ditsch has established itself as a quality brand and has every reason for celebrating its 75th anniversary: a small bakery in Mainz evolved into one of the largest direct marketers of oven-fresh pretzel products in Germany.

1993
HSelling like hot cakes: our frozen pretzel dough

Selling like hot cakes: our frozen pretzel dough

Ditsch now also supplies its frozen pretzel dough to bakeries, frozen food home delivery companies and wholesalers. A third production line is set up to facilitate this expansion.

1991
Baking tradition continues at a new address

Baking tradition continues at a new address

Company moves within the Hechtsheim district of Mainz: the new company headquarters has a production hall measuring 3,250 m² and two separate production lines, an administrative building with 750 m², a deep-freeze high-bay warehouse and a dispatch hall.

1990
Peter Ditsch takes over – and wins an award

Peter Ditsch takes over – and wins an award

As the new sole shareholder of Ditsch GmbH, Peter Ditsch accepts the sector Oscar on behalf of the company: the “Marktkieker” is the most prestigious entrepreneurial and innovation award in the German baking sector.

1988
Noch mehr Platz für neue Ideen.

Even more room for new ideas

The production hall is expanded, introducing a spiral conveyor for proofing and freezing pretzel dough. New additions to the product range include Cheese Bakes and Ham & Cheese Sticks.

1985
Aus 100 qm werden 535 qm

From 100 to 535 m²

While the Kapuzinerstrasse location only had 60 m² and 40 m² of production and storage space respectively, the new bakery in the Hechtsheim district of Mainz is on a far larger scale – with 375 m² for production and 160 m² for administrative and social facilities

1984-1960 En route for success: Heinz and Peter Ditsch

1984
Boom time on Kapuzinerstrasse

Boom time on Kapuzinerstrasse

Demand for fresh Ditsch pretzels is growing rapidly, with production now focused primarily on pretzel dough for baking on location. The family bakery is now bursting at the seams with a team of 25 people.

1980
Ditsch pretzel ovens: a red-hot innovation

Ditsch pretzel ovens: a red-hot innovation

When Peter Ditsch saw this oven at a trade fair, he knew immediately that his company would be able to provide fresh, hot pretzels anywhere and at any time. Soon afterwards, the first deep-frozen pretzels are baked on location in stationary Ditsch shops.

1975
For the love of pretzels: Peter Ditsch

For the love of pretzels: Peter Ditsch

Peter Ditsch joins the family business and soon takes over responsibility for sales organisation. The first mobile pretzel stands that can be collected at the end of the day can be attributed to his initiative.

1972

The first ever Ditsch pretzel stand

A brilliant business idea: setting up a pretzel stand in Mainz Central Station to allow people to stock up on snacks before catching their trains. At this stage, the stand still needs to be set up in the morning and taken down in the evening.

1960
Company growth on the rise

Company growth on the rise

Under Heinz Ditsch, the family company expands, specialising in durable products like pre-packaged pretzels and salt sticks in cellophane bags. These are a resounding hit in pubs and taverns and at local festivals.

1959-1919 Wilhelm Ditsch gets things started

1952
Heinz Ditsch and the pretzel men

Heinz Ditsch and the pretzel men

In 1952, Wilhelm Ditsch handed over the bakery to his son Heinz. It was he who initiated the first “pretzel men”, who sold fresh pretzels out of baskets in the pubs and taverns of Mainz and at local festivals.

1947
A new bakery and a new beginning

A new bakery and a new beginning

Upon returning from war captivity, Wilhelm and his son Heinz begin to rebuild the bakery on Kapuzinerstrasse themselves. Mainz and the surrounding area have their Ditsch pretzels again.

1945
The «golden city» becomes a stone desert

The «golden city» becomes a stone desert

While Wilhelm Ditsch and his son Heinz are off fighting in the Second World War, the final and most devastating bombing raid on Mainz on 27 February 1945 also hits and destroys the bakery in Kapuzinerstrasse.

1940
War comes but hope remains

War comes but hope remains

The bakery on Taunusstrasse is destroyed by the very first incendiary bomb to hit Mainz. Ever the optimist, Wilhelm Ditsch moves to Kapuzinerstrasse 38, but two heavy Allied bombing raids on Mainz follow in 1942 and 1945.

1935
Fresh pretzels at local festivals

Fresh pretzels at local festivals

After a premises without a retail area is acquired at Taunusstrasse 1 in Mainz, the bakery is granted its first official permit to bake pretzels on two Sundays with a view to supplying the public festivals in nearby Rüsselsheim and Bad Homburg.

1919

It all began with Wilhelm Ditsch

He paved the way for the 100-year Ditsch tradition: in 1919, Wilhelm Ditsch has his “pretzel bakery”, located at Löhrstrasse 17, entered in the Mainz Commercial Register.

100 Jahre Brezelbäckerei Ditsch

2019-1999

Von Mainz-Hechtsheim
in die ganze Welt.

Mehr erfahren

1998-1985

Und der Branchen-Oscar geht an: Ditsch!

Mehr erfahren

1984-1960

Auf Erfolgskurs:
Heinz und Peter Ditsch.

Mehr erfahren

1959-1919

Wilhelm Ditsch macht
den Anfang.

Mehr erfahren

2019-1999 Von Mainz-Hechtsheim in die ganze Welt.

2019
100 Jahre Brezelbäckerei Ditsch

100 Jahre Brezelbäckerei Ditsch

Einen herzlichen Dank an unsere Sponsoren für ihre Unterstützung zu unserem Jubiläum:



Mit inzwischen über 200 Shops ist die Idee des Gründers Wilhelm Ditsch heute aktueller denn je: Ditsch ist da, wenn du hungrig bist. Nach 100 Jahren lebt die Tradition weiter – jünger denn je und mit einem Angebot, das mit Qualität und Vielfalt begeistert. Ditsch ist heute mit Ditsch USA und Brezelkönig Schweiz einer der weltweit führenden Produzenten für Laugenbackwaren.

Broschüre – 100 Jahre Ditsch (PDF, 4 MB)

Jubiläumsfilm
Weltrekord
Werkführung
Jubiläum VideosWeniger
2017

Verrückt nach Pretzel

Die Valora Gruppe kauft den in Cincinnati, Ohio, ansässigen Laugengebäck-Hersteller Pretzel Baron und ist damit erstmals mit eigener Produktion in den USA vor Ort. Pretzel Baron wird im Folgejahr in Ditsch USA umfirmiert. In Oranienbaum wird nach 20 Jahren ein Neubau für Ditsch mit zwei weiteren Produktionslinien in Angriff genommen.

2014
Das kann sich sehen lassen

Das kann sich sehen lassen

In Berlin wird die Eröffnung des 200. Ditsch Shops gefeiert und im Werk Oranienbaum ist inzwischen die 8. Produktionslinie in Betrieb. Die deutliche Ressourcen-Einsparung durch das Energiemanagement an allen Standorten macht die positive Bilanz perfekt.

2012

Ein großer Markt braucht einen starken Partner

Die Brezelbäckerei Ditsch wird als starke Marke Teil der international tätigen Valora Gruppe aus der Schweiz mit Peter Ditsch als Ankeraktionär. Qualitätsanspruch und Innovationsfreude sind auch in den folgenden Jahren das Erfolgsrezept von Ditsch.

2010
Ditsch Laugenspezialitäten von Hamburg bis München

Ditsch Laugenspezialitäten von Hamburg bis München

Mit 180 Shops ist die Brezelbäckerei Ditsch nun in der ganzen Republik vertreten und sorgt für das Brezelglück, das die Mainzer schon seit 1919 kennen. Die Unternehmenszentrale in Mainz-Hechtsheim wird durch einen Anbau vergrößert.

2008

Neues Sortiment und neue Kapazitäten

Nachdem Ditsch bereits 2006 erstmals den Lebensmitteleinzelhandel und den Cash&Carry-Bereich mit einem neuen Sortiment beliefert, wird jetzt in Oranienbaum die 6. Produktionslinie in Betrieb genommen.

2004

Noch ein Preis und eine besondere Ehre

Der VR-Innovations-Preis Mittelstand der Volksbanken und Raiffeisenbanken geht dieses Jahr an Ditsch, doch es gibt einen weiteren Grund, um stolz zu sein: Die „Sendung mit der Maus“ kommt vorbei und zeigt den Kindern die hohe Kunst des Brezelbackens.

2003
Ditsch ist «Entrepreneur des Jahres»

Ditsch ist «Entrepreneur des Jahres»

Der von der internationalen Ernst&Young Gruppe verliehene Preis beflügelt. Im gleichen Jahr wird in Oranienbaum die Produktionsfläche auf 15.000 qm erweitert und das Tiefkühl- Lager auf 6.000 Palettenstellplätze ausgebaut.

2000
Ditsch und Brezelkönig

Ditsch und Brezelkönig

Ditsch übernimmt die 1995 in der Schweiz gegründete Brezelkönig AG und baut das Schweizer Verkaufsstellennetz in den kommenden drei Jahren von fünf auf rund 30 Standorte aus.

1998/1999

Schöne Aussichten in Oranienbaum

Einweihung des neuen Ditsch Werkes mit 7.700 qm Produktionsfläche in Oranienbaum bei Dessau als zweite Produktionsstätte. Ein vielversprechender Standort – nicht nur aus unternehmerischer Sicht. Darüber hinaus tritt Ditsch ins Handelsgeschäft (B2B) ein.

1998-1985 Und der Branchen-Oscar geht an: Ditsch!

1996
Noch mehr Gründe zum Feiern

Noch mehr Gründe zum Feiern

Ein kleines Fest gab es bereits im Jahr 1995, als der 100. Ditsch Shop eröffnet wurde. Im Jahr danach kann sich das Unternehmen über eine weitere Auszeichnung freuen: den Hamburger Foodservice-Preis für besondere Verdienste um die Branche.

1994

75 Jahre Brezelbäckerei Ditsch

Ditsch hat sich zur Qualitäts-Marke entwickelt und allen Grund, das 75-jährige Firmen-Jubiläum zu feiern: Aus der kleinen Mainzer Bäckerei wurde einer der größten Direktvermarkter für ofenfrisches Laugengebäck in Deutschland.

1993
Heiß begehrt und tiefgefroren: Unsere Teiglinge

Heiß begehrt und tiefgefroren: Unsere Teiglinge

Auch Bäckereien und Tiefkühl-Heimdienste sowie Großverbraucher werden jetzt mit Teiglingen von Ditsch beliefert. Die Einrichtung einer dritten Produktionslinie macht die Expansion problemlos möglich.

1991
Backtradition unter neuer Adresse

Backtradition unter neuer Adresse

Umzug innerhalb von Mainz-Hechtsheim: Der neue Unternehmenssitz hat eine Produktionshalle mit 3.250 qm und zwei getrennten Produktionslinien, ein Verwaltungsgebäude mit 750qm, ein Tiefkühl- Hochregal-Lager sowie eine Versandhalle.

1990
Peter Ditsch übernimmt Führung – und Preis

Peter Ditsch übernimmt Führung – und Preis

Als neuer Alleingesellschafter der Ditsch GmbH kann Peter Ditsch gleich den Branchen-Oscar für das Unternehmen in Empfang nehmen: Der „Marktkieker“ ist der renommierteste Unternehmer- und Innovationspreis der deutschen Backbranche.

1988
Noch mehr Platz für neue Ideen

Noch mehr Platz für neue Ideen

Die Produktionshalle wird erweitert und erstmals mit einer Spiralförderungsanlage zum Gären und Frosten von Teiglingen in Betrieb genommen. Neue Kreationen im Sortiment sind Schlemmerzungen und Schinken-Käse-Stangen.

1985
Aus 100 qm werden 535 qm

Aus 100 qm werden 535 qm

Der Betrieb in der Kapuzinerstraße bot nur 60 qm Produktions- und 40 qm Lagerfläche, der neugebaute Standort Mainz-Hechtsheim hat deutlich mehr: 375 qm in der Produktion und 160 qm im Verwaltungs- und Sozialbau.

1984-1960 Auf Erfolgskurs: Heinz und Peter Ditsch

1984
Boom in der Kapuzinerstraße

Boom in der Kapuzinerstraße

Die Nachfrage nach den frischen Ditsch Brezeln steigt, und Teiglinge bilden jetzt den Schwerpunkt der Produktion. Die Familienbäckerei mit inzwischen 25 Mitarbeitern platzt aus allen Nähten.

1980
Der Ditsch Brezelofen  – eine heiße Innovation

Der Ditsch Brezelofen – eine heiße Innovation

Als Peter Ditsch auf einer Fachmesse diesen Ofen sieht, weiß er sofort: Damit gibt’s immer und überall frische, warme Brezeln. Im ersten stationären Brezelhäuschen von Ditsch werden damit tiefgefrorene Teiglinge aufgebacken.

1975
Aus Liebe zur Brezel: Peter Ditsch

Aus Liebe zur Brezel: Peter Ditsch

Peter Ditsch tritt als Mitarbeiter in den elterlichen Betrieb ein und übernimmt bald die Organisation des Verkaufs. Die ersten fahrbaren Brezelstände, die am Abend wieder abgeholt werden, gehen auf seine Initiative zurück.

1972

Der erste Brezelstand von Ditsch

Eine geniale Geschäftsidee: Ein Brezelstand am Mainzer Hauptbahnhof, damit sich Reisende vor der Abfahrt noch schnell mit Proviant für unterwegs versorgen können. Noch muss der Stand morgens auf- und abends abgebaut werden.

1960
Unternehmenswachstum perfekt eingetütet

Unternehmenswachstum perfekt eingetütet

Unter Heinz Ditsch expandiert das Familienunternehmen und spezialisiert sich auf Laugenbrezeln und Salzsticks als Dauergebäck in Zellophantüten. Ein voller Erfolg bei der Gastronomie und auf Volksfesten.

1959-1919 Wilhelm Ditsch macht den Anfang

1952
Heinz Ditsch und die Brezelmänner

Heinz Ditsch und die Brezelmänner

1952 übergibt Wilhelm Ditsch die Bäckerei an seinen Sohn Heinz. Mit ihm kommen die ersten „Brezelmänner“, die aus Körben frische Brezeln in Mainzer Gaststätten und auf Volksfesten verkaufen.

1947
Neue Backstube, neues Brezelglück

Neue Backstube, neues Brezelglück

Aus der Kriegsgefangenschaft zurückgekehrt, machen sich Vater Wilhelm und Sohn Heinz in Eigenarbeit daran, die Backstube in der Kapuzinerstraße neu aufzubauen. Mainz und das Umland haben ihre Ditsch Brezeln wieder.

1945
Die «goldene Stadt» wird zur Steinwüste

Die «goldene Stadt» wird zur Steinwüste

Während Wilhelm Ditsch und sein Sohn Heinz im Krieg sind, wird beim letzten und schwersten Bombenangriff auf Mainz am 27. Februar 1945 auch die Backstube in der Kapuzinerstraße getroffen und zerstört.

1940
Der Krieg kommt, die Hoffnung bleibt

Der Krieg kommt, die Hoffnung bleibt

Schon die erste Brandbombe auf Mainz zerstört die Backstube in der Taunusstraße. Hoffnungsvoll zieht Wilhelm Ditsch in die Kapuzinerstraße 38, doch zwei schwere Angriffe der Alliierten auf Mainz sollten 1942 und 1945 noch folgen.

1935
Aus dem Ofen auf die Kirmes

Aus dem Ofen auf die Kirmes

Dem Erwerb einer Backstube ohne Verkaufsraum in der Taunusstraße 1 in Mainz folgt eine erste amtliche Genehmigung zum Brezelbacken an zwei Sonntagen zur Belieferung von Volksfesten in Rüsselsheim und Bad Homburg.

1919

Mit Wilhelm Ditsch fing alles an

Er begründete die 100-jährige Ditsch Tradition: Wilhelm Ditsch lässt 1919 seine «Bäckerei für Brezel und Laugengebäck» mit der Adresse Löhrstraße 17 im Handelsregister der Stadt Mainz eintragen.